Maybe you have multiple Gmail accounts and you feel overwhelmed being forced to manage them all, or you have just one but it’s not your primary address. Either way, it is possible to permanently delete your Gmail account but keep in mind that once you do, you won’t be able to get it back.
Before you permanently delete your Gmail account there are a few things you must do. Firstly, you need to unlink that email address from important accounts such as your bank, PayPal, Amazon, work and so on. This cannot be ignored because the emails you need to receive from these services cannot be forwarded to your main email address once you delete it. As a result, make sure to change the contact email address on your most important accounts before anything else.
Secondly, you might want to download all your important emails before deleting the account. Luckily, this is easy to do since Google has an option for that. You can access it on the Download your data page. There, use the “Select none” option and manually select just the Mail item.
There, if you click the small arrow you can select only specific labels to be downloaded. If you want to download all mail just leave the “Include all of your mail” option enabled. To continue, click the Next option at the bottom of the screen and go through the required steps to save your emails.
How to permanently delete your Gmail account
To begin with, you will need to sign into your Gmail account, click on your profile icon and select “My Account”. On your My Account page, click on the “Delete your account or services” option.
On the following screen, click on “Delete products” under the “Delete your account or services” section. You will be asked to sign in one more time.
A list of Google services that are attached to your account will also be displayed and you can delete any of them. To continue, click on the bin icon next to Gmail then you will need to enter another email address that will allow your other Google accounts to remain active. Keep in mind the alternative email address cannot be a Gmail address.
At this point, you should receive an email from Google at the alternative address you entered. It will ask you to click a link and confirm you want to permanently delete your Gmail account.
That link will display a message from Google which basically explains what will happen if you delete your account. Assuming you’re OK with all that, check the box at the bottom of the message then click on the “DELETE GMAIL” button.
Once you’re done, your Gmail address is permanently deleted. While you won’t be able to access its inbox, you will still be able to access any attached Google services using the alternate email address you filled in earlier.